Sylvia Earle at TED Conference

ear0_image

Every year the TED Conference has amazing guest speakers. My favorites from this year were Bill Gates and Sylvia Earle. Earle’s presentation about the destruction of the oceans had the same eye-opening effect that Sharkwater had on me last year. I highly recommend watching  Sylvia Earle’s video. Also, trailer for Sharkwater after the jump.

I’ve recently been looking for marine-related volunteer opportunities. Ideally, I would like someone with an awesome boat to take me out to catch, tag and study monster sized sharks amidst thunderous seas for the purposes science. Realistically, I would be happy pulling plastic bags off of sea turtles or something.

If anybody knows of any volunteer opportunities in the Miami area please let me know.

 

 

 

 

~ by Joel on February 24, 2009.

5 Responses to “Sylvia Earle at TED Conference”

  1. ooooooh, we’re gonna need a bigger boat

  2. Not sure if marine mammals in Key Largo work for you, but http://www.marinemammalconservancy.org/how_to_help_volunteer.html

  3. I was hoping for something more deadly…but this works. Thanks!

  4. Sup buddy. I have been reading along for a while. Good stuff

    My guess is that there are a a lot of opportunities for maritime volunteering.

    My two cents, check out http://www.thesca.org/

  5. Hey, good to hear from you. Thanks for the support and the link.

Leave a comment