“What exactly is it you do here?”

 Ad Age has a story today on job losses in advertising related positions reaching 65,100 since the start of the recession, with 18,700 of these losses from December of last year alone. BNET has a little more analysis on the story as well. Although I already survived one round of layoffs, which is why I find myself as the default account head of my department with scarcely one year of experience under my belt, allow me to go down George Parker from AdScam’s criteria for how royally screwed I am right now.

Work for the biggest of the BDA’s (Big Dumb Agencies) : check. I’ll also raise with an automotive client. Specialize in Hispanic advertising, which is the first to get cut despite constant reports about what an essential market it is: check. Making futile attempts via Facebook, LinkedIn and blogs to build some sort of a professional network for myself: check. Considering VCU for a specialization in planning or brand management: checkity-check. That last one goes very well with this post from Penelope Trunk’s Brazen Careerist. And finally, I’ll throw in a little CP+B experience for good measure.

George mentions that advertising is the world’s second oldest profession. At this point I wouldn’t mind working in the first, the money is probably better and I’m already getting screwed.

~ by Joel on February 9, 2009.

One Response to ““What exactly is it you do here?””

  1. I think it’s time we go back to brainstorming invetions and get-rich-quick schemes.

Leave a Reply

 
