Scratching it off the bucket list…

  GreatWhite.jpg Great White Shark image by Rwwolfe9

The countdown has begun. On September 28th I set sail from San Diego to Isla Guadalupe, a remote island off of Mexico with one of the highest seasonal concentrations of GREAT WHITE SHARKS on the planet. Yes, I will be in the water with them. And yes, the water may become slightly warmer when I lay eyes on my first shark.

It will be a five day trip, with three days worth of cage diving time. We’re using what looks like a great group called Islander-Charters . Check out the trailer for a documentrary called  Island of the Great White Shark featuring our future home away from home, the Islander.

For the next three months I will be going shark crazy. I’m reading  a great book called The Devils Teeth about the White Sharks off of the Farallon Islands near San Francisco just to get an idea of what to expect.

One of the great things about the trip is that we’ll have virtually unlimmited time in the cage during the three days at the island. I figured by the end of the first day I’ll have enough pictures, so I might take on a little photography project.  Send me a message you want written on a board and I’ll hold it up while inside the cage and surrounded by sharks. I’ll send you the pictures when I get back. It could be a “hi mom!” or “jim’s a douchebag!” Anything you want.

~ by Joel on June 25, 2009.

8 Responses to “Scratching it off the bucket list…”

  1. Why does everybody want to swim with Great WHITE Sharks? Where’s the love for Great BLACK Sharks? For how evolved you humans claim to be, it’s boggling that you’re not only racist to yourselves, but to us sharks too.

  2. I’m not mentioned anywhere in this post. Shame on you. Shame shame shame.

    93 days, 12 hours and 45 min buddy. oooooh im excited.

  3. Hell. Yes.
    And bring me back a pet shark.
    (please)

  4. I would love to swin with Great Whites, I am sooooo jealous. Look forward to hearing about it and seeing some close-ups!!

  5. So I thought this ^^ Jenny was someone I knew, but if you click her name it takes you to a vacation insurance website. Well played madam, well played.

  6. I don’t know why you have this fascination with sharks. Don’t die out there, man.

  7. […] me to remind you about what I’ll be doing in September. Yeah. The site didn’t scare me into thinking twice about the trip, but at the very least it […]

  8. Awesome!!!!! That is somthing that I’ve always wanted to do – you guys need to take lots of pics!!!!!

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

